Why Tweet, why Blog? And some of my life journey.

I was talking to @maha_abed about Twitter and bouncing ideas between each other in front of others at a meeting as to why we both were Twitter heads. Personal development, access to new ideas, getting new incites to technologies and innovation etc. I’m sure you could add much more. This morning I was talking to some guys in very different work situations about technologies, Yammer use in industries, and using email versus phone for communication the pros and the cons. In some ways it comes down to learning styles, familiarity and what you are used to and what works best when you are dealing with know people and character types I think.

This was my first dabble into blogging back in 2008 when I did 23 things at a previous University I worked for. It is a bit scary to revisit it and look at what was happening back then, and to know it still has a web presence. In the early parts of the blog it outlines my bike accident on July 10th 2008 and my return to work process which was “interesting”.

I don’t think Twitter was invented back then when we did 23 Things. I did set up an account at some time, but I blame @clairebrooks who at the time worked at my current workplace @LTUlibrary as an educational designer. She helped fan the flame & encouraged my Twitter addition.

So over #blogjune I aim to actually think and reflect a bit over the tweets I retweet and use during the days of June. And who knows, maybe blogging will also become part of my social media way of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Tweet, why Blog? And some of my life journey.

  1. Penny says:

    my blogging dropped off when Twitter emerged, but there are still times when I want more than 140 characters 🙂

  2. I’m still trying to drag myself into the Twitter era… I follow people (like you) somewhat haphazardly but rarely ever tweet, or even re-tweet.

Leave a Reply

