So why the bike obsession?

As anyone who knows me, twitter follows me, talks to me, or in some cases has even heard of me via someone else knows I have a biking obsession.  As a child biking was transport.  I was biking on hand me down bikes from older brothers.  It was transport to school which was around a 10 km round trip for most of my high school life.   For my 16th birthday I got my first 10 speed racing bike, a Ricardo, which is still in my possession but in disrepair.  It was still just transport, but I did break out occassionally on this bike for pleasure.

At 18 I got a car license and a car 6 months later.  The bike took a back seat.  Over this period there was the very occasional recreational bike ride. My renaissance back to biking came after a 20 year hiatus and initially for fitness with a friend.  It then blossomed into buying a bike from Kmart, and having a more bike savvy friend, who was bike commuting daily, and who helped put this bike together.  We then regularly rode together on a Saturday morning.  Around the same time I saw in the paper the formulation of Brimbank Bike User Group (BrimBUG).  I went along to some meetings, went along on some rides with them and was hooked on bike advocacy working with local council, Bicycle Network Victoria, and other BUGs around Melbourne.  I then met another friend who was more into road biking and regularly rode both on road and off road with him.  He introduced me to his group of road biking friends and I have been regularly meeting with them to ride beach road on a Saturday morning for almost seven years.  Through that group I have well and truly developed into a MAMIL (Middle Aged Man In Lycra). Through that group I have improved my speed, ability and endurance. As I improved I have participated in various organized bike rides including Around the Bay in a Day, Great Ocean  & Otway Classic, MS Melbourne Cycle and others.

In a sense like librarianship there are various assumptions and misconclusions about biking.  There is Road biking, Mountain biking, and commuting.  There are Public Libraries, Academic Libraries, and Special Libraries.  There are those that ride for sport, those that ride as commuters for transport, there are those that ride for pleasure and sport. There are librarians, library technicians, and library officers.

When a librarian walks into a library there is some affinity, but some differences.  When a non librarian walks into a library there are some assumptions and knowledge but also some misconclusions.  Similarly when a biker meets another biker there is some affinity, but some differences.  Similarly when a non biker meets a biker there are some assumptions and knowledge but also some misconclusions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So why the bike obsession?

  1. Pingback: Riding beach road. | GraemeO28 Librarian and biker

Leave a Reply

