Finding your information

I went for a great bike ride with a friend in celebration of Queen’s Birthday holiday.  We explored an area I had not been to before.  See ride here via STRAVA I have a good sense of direction and once I have travelled in an area I seem to remember it.  In fact the same friend I went riding with calls me his GPS (Graeme Positioning System).  When we stopped for coffee at a favourite café there were a couple of older bikers there.  We got talking and they mentioned within the area we had just explored that there is a viewing tower and gave directions as to how to get there.  I will check that out next time I ride in the area.

It made me reflect on how we find our information, and what I have heard and seen of how our library users search for information.  Do they go exploring for themselves, have a good sense of direction and thus enjoy the journey but miss out on some good stuff?  Do they do  any prior research?  Do they explore maps along the way?  I did briefly look at a map within the area I travelled that was posted at an entrance to get an idea.  Do they ask others, as I did, and then get some extra information?  I’m sure I have read or heard that younger generations often ask peers first in information exploration.  Maybe some readers can verify this or have some other ideas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding your information

  1. Penny says:

    Peer recommendation is definitely something we see a lot of here at MPOW. Unfortunately, it’s not always the “best” stuff that gets recommended. But often it is ok.

Leave a Reply

