The Disinterested Leader: In the Library

I read with great interest The Disinterested Leader: In the Library  In it the writer @mguhlin poses the questions what do I really want for myself, what do I really want for you and me together, and have I made the effort to build mutual purpose and respect.  I really liked his first statement of wanting, as a librarian, to encourage information literacy, problem solving and reading.  And then the importance of problem solving together and building great programs together with leaders support, encouragement and funding.  The writer then goes on to talk a little about working with teachers and the principal often at a different angle, and with different desires and approaches.

The suggestion is to approach interaction with disinterest and to transcend the bickering, in fighting and disagreements between others, and to think of the overall good that you can do, reframe the conversation and in so doing build trust in demonstrating you are not working to extend yourself.  And in so doing demonstrating that our focus and intent is for the good of the organization.

I found this article quite challenging as I find it all too easy to slip into negativity and dissent.  It might be fun to snigger and poke fun behind peoples backs, but is it for the good of the organization?  I’m going to ascribe to being more of a disinterred leader.  Thanks Miguel.  @mguhlin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Disinterested Leader: In the Library

  1. Craig says:

    Hey Graeme,

    Thanks for sharing. Is it selling out to do what the administrator or principal wants? Every organisation has goals, and by aligning with them you get credit, but you also get to participate in something greater than your own agenda. I like to think I’m a pretty smart guy, though I freely admit I’m capable of some death-defying acts of stupidity, but it’s not hard to move from this to the idea that there are smarter people than me in the world, and possibly they got where they are because of it. I’m not advocating blindly following someone down an unethical, immoral, or just plain stupid path, or just being a ‘yes person,’ but more often than not I don’t think this is the case in successful organisations. The author does go on further, “Others begin to trust us more because we’re not working for our own gain.” Of course, the author may have used the phrase in anticipation of what others may think when they first encounter the idea.

    “I found this article quite challenging as I find it all too easy to slip into negativity and dissent.” Really? I wouldn’t have thought that about you.

    I loved the line, “I want to do this well because it taps into my excitement and fulfills me as a teacher-librarian and a human being.”

    Cheers,
    Craig

    • graemeo28 says:

      Hi Craig,

      Thanks for your thoughts and glad it got you thinking to make such a thoughtful response. I don’t think it is selling out to the admin or principal, in fact the idea I got from the article was to align more to job expectations, sell the good things that you can do and rise above the personal issues people often have with each other and the organization. And re: negativity and dissent maybe we need to get together for a coffee some time 🙂 GO

Leave a Reply

