Conferences

I’ve been very fortunate over my professional career to have the privilege to attend a range of conference, seminars, workshops, and symposiums over the years.  This article today I saw via @kellos about the four reasons your employees should attend conferences resonated somewhat with me.

The first reason to learn.  I find it amazing to hear of innovation and often listen hear and think of how things might apply to my life or workplace.  As I shared I am a connector so often in hearing and learning about new things I am often thinking of others and who might also benefit from this information.
The second reason networking.  Again refer to the connecter that I am.  I have a wide interaction with a wide range of people, particularly within library land and within academic institutions in Victoria.
The third, content.  I actively seek via twitter and the odd video conference to see content before after or during conference that I am present at.
And the fourth share. Within my organization there is a responsibility to report back after attending a conference in a Knowledge Exchange Forum where by in front of library staff the conference participant tells a bit of their experience and some of the key papers and insights experienced at the conference.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

