In vain you rise early and stay up late…

Today’s sermon by my pastor was on Psalm 127  There were lots of great things preached by my pastor on this, but the verse that spoke to me was verse 2 In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat—for he grants sleep to those he loves.

Reflecting over #blogjune and as we are seeing the light at the end of the month drawing near,  it has been a challenge for me, but also worthwhile.  It has, as I have mentioned in a few of my other posts, helped to upskill me for the current work project #FutureLibrary It has also, and this was part of the sermon, helped me not to just skim past some of the great blogs and articles I read and retweet, but has allowed me to actually think and ponder and reflect how those articles relate to me and my work and life.

I swim in many different social and professional circles and there are variant knowledge and uptake of social media among my circles.  Some are VERY into it, and for some it is NON existent.  This bible verse challenged me to think about my current lifestyle and my obsession with Social Media to often spend early morning time catching up and retweeting, and particularly during #blogjune staying up later just to get the blog posted on that day.

There is also a subset of tweeps, and you know who you are, that sometimes tweet about their insomnia.  Now don’t get me wrong.  I am NOT preaching to you or to them, nor laying any guilt trips… sleep comes to all of us regardless of God love…
The personal challenge for me in this verse, and that wasn’t even part of today’s sermon by my pastor who did an excellent job I must say, which I have also touched on in previous posts… could I be unplugged for a day?  Could I step back from my social media obsession?  The test will come soon with some leave coming up, and holidaying in an area with unknown wifi or connectivity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

