Melton Library

I took the morning off work and found myself in Melton.  I was aware of the new public library and community hub  so thought I would check it out.  It was certainly quite a landmark.

Meltonlibrary

The exposed light wood reminded me of the Docklands library.  It was impressive to see the amount of community involvement.  There are a number of break out and meeting rooms a number of which seemed occupied by different groups.  One area seemed dedicated to Federation University where I presume classes were being held.

Meltonlights

To sign up as a member to get access to  WiFi was easy.  There was a dedicated computer terminal to fill in a form, and then going to a counter to have a card issued.  When I asked whether there was a time limit on using WiFi the staff member said no, you can use it till your eyes drop out.

MeltonLibraryindoor

Over the two levels of the library it seemed to have a good book stock and separated areas for children’s reading time, group study areas, play areas, and individual reading and study areas with a café near the entrance.   The furniture was modern funky and bright.  After signing up to WiFi I spent a good half hour or so utilizing the service and enjoying the atmosphere.

Meltonlibraryfurniture

When I tried to tweet about the library I found that it did not have a twitter handle although the council does     The library has an  Instagram account and a facebook page

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

