Kathryn’s 28th suggestion

So back on 17th June when Paul  @paulhagon  suggested a topic for the 21st Kathryn Greenhill @libsmatter
suggested a topic for 28th.  Thanks Kathryn.  In last days of #blogjune it is hard to fill up the page.
1. If you could go back and tell your 20 year old self one thing that was going to happen to you between then and today, what would that be?

Be prepared for life’s journey ahead.  Your resilience, humour, and social skills will connect you and get you through.

As a single 20 year old studying a Bachelor of Science at Deakin University and living at home in Geelong that had been the family town for at least two or three generations I had not found my life partner whom I married and had kids with.  I had not moved to Melbourne and made a life there.  I had not at that staged deferred my studies, worked in a bank, and then went back and completed my studies, worked in Science, got a taste for libraries, studied librarianship, scored a library job and had the majority of my future in academic libraries mostly as a science librarian.  Since my 20s I have maintained my Christian faith and church connection fostered by my upbringing but transferred membership through three different denominations.    In more recent times I had my first big overseas holiday only a few years ago that I blogjuned about last year.  As a 20 year old I had not developed my passion for cycling and biking advocacy only bike riding occasionally.
2. In 20 years time (presuming the world gets better, not worse) what do you think will be the biggest technological difference between your life now and your life then ?

The hindrance with technology now I feel is the requirement to be connected to systems and pay for the privilege.  I would like to think that in 20 years time there will not be a requirement to pay for the wifi, to pay for the subscription, to pay for the licence, to have to pay the time and effort to learn the software.  All will be seamless, straightforward and free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kathryn’s 28th suggestion

  1. RachB says:

    I don’t think that wifi will be totally free, as someone has to do the maintenance on the network and that won’t be free, so who pays? Sharing and caring is all good until you have to pay your bills.

Leave a Reply

